Back At It

run blog

Getting up after falling can be hard. Especially when the fall is not working out in a few months and getting back up is finally working out again. That kind of getting up sucks.

Every time I get back into working out after a short (or sometimes long) break, I tell myself the same thing: NEVER AGAIN. And yet here I am. But with my new focus on wellness and fitness, I decided it was time to get back at it. I knew it wouldn’t be fun, but I’m really hoping it’s worth it.

This week I started a program called Beach Body Guide (BBG). I’ll write another post with a full review about it soon. What I will say is that after the first leg workout, I could barely walk. After the first upper body workout, I couldn’t lift my arms above my head. These physical signs can be taken one of two ways. You can either look at them as signs that you’re weak, or look at them as signs that you’re making progress.

I wish I could say that every time I’m sore I think, ‘Wow, think of how strong I’m becoming.’ More often than not, I feel weak and angry that I ever let myself fall back into the pattern of laziness, but that mindset certainly hasn’t helped me out in the past.

My goal now is to take it day by day, knowing that changes don’t happen overnight. I want to be more positive about the progress I’m making. Being sore can be a good thing. Being tired can be a good thing. But the most important thing is to stick with it. Start slowly. You don’t have to go out on a five mile run right away. Just get up, go for a walk, and build from there. It might not be fun at first, but you know what they say: ‘No pain, no gain’

-Caroline

If you’re thinking about getting back into working out, or you have tips for staying motivated, leave them in the comments below!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Megan says:

    I love this HD!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennie says:

    Love this! Whenever I go to the gym or for a run around my neighborhood, it keeps me going to think to myself, “this is only 30 minutes of my day. I can allow myself to take 30 minutes out of my day to spend on myself. I deserve it.” Somehow this keeps me going a little longer! I like what you said about one day a time. That helps me too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

