Future Dog Lady

As a little girl, whenever people asked me what I wanted to do with my life I would always respond saying, “I want to live in a mansion with my best friends, 100 dogs, and have blue hair.” If only I could graduate with a degree in loving dogs, then my dream would come true. Unfortunately, that isn’t happening anytime soon, but my love for dogs hasn’t changed. Being in college I don’t have the time and set schedule to have a dog but I have fostered puppies for short periods of time, and was instantly happier. Dogs are not only adorable but also offer many benefits to your well-being! Here are a few reasons how dogs provide owners with several benefits:

Need to relax more? Just spend a few minutes a day with your best friend

It is scientifically proven that spending 10-15 min a day with your dog will make you feel more relaxed and calm. It is like having a cuddle buddy 24/7 and never wanting them to leave.

dog gif 5.gif

Dogs help you get ready for that summer body

Having a dog forces you to take him on walks and exercise regularly. Going for a walk in the park or playing fetch with your dog is a great way to exercise without it feeling like one.

dog exercise 2.gif

Having a dog could help you make more friends

Whenever I walked my foster puppy, about 5 people would stop me on the street to make conversation (even if it was just to pet my dog). Having a dog makes a person a lot more approachable and easier to talk to hence making more friends! Who knows your puppy could even be cupid…

dog gif7.gif

You’ll be a lot healthier 

It has been proven that dog owners have lower heart rate and blood pressure. If you have any children, having a dog reduces the chance of having allergies in the future.

dog gif 8.gif

Someone will always be happy to see you

Nothing is better than coming home from a long day and being greeted by a wagging tail. No matter how late you come home, your dog will always be impatiently waiting for your arrival.

dog gif 9.gif

 

Remember if you do decide to get a dog, it is a 10+ year commitment. That being said, it will be one of the best decisions you will ever make. I personally own 2 dogs, and my oldest who passed away last week, and they have always been the highlight of my trips back home. I couldn’t miss Rex any more. However with my other two dogs, I’m probably more excited to see them than my mom (sorry mom).

IMG_7877
RIP Rex

What benefits have your dogs given you? Let us know!

-Nash

Leave a Reply

